Further notes from The White People by Arthur Machen: an example of a folk charm against faeries.

I could not see any stones or flowers, but I was afraid of bringing them away without knowing, and I thought I would do a charm[137] that came into my head to keep the black man away. So I stood right in the very middle of the hollow, and I made sure that I had none of those things on me, and then I walked round the place, and touched my eyes, and my lips, and my hair in a peculiar manner, and whispered some queer words that nurse taught me to keep bad things away. Then I felt safe and climbed up out of the hollow, and went on through all those mounds and hollows and walls, till I came to the end, which was high above all the rest, and I could see that all the different shapes of the earth were arranged in patterns…

Leave a Reply

