Thirty Objects of Desire is my response ot the NaGaDeMoN and NaNoWriMo challenges, although I am not following the rules for either.  I aim to post daily, for 30 days, creating a saga arc and story seeds for the Ars Magica roleplaying game.

Quick links

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15 16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30 Epilogue

8 replies on “Thirty Objects of Desire

  1. Hi,

    Apologies for the off-topic comment, but I couldn’t find a contact email for you.

    I’ve recently put out an ebook of my writing, called ‘The New Death and others’. It’s mostly short stories, with some obvious gamer-interest material. For example I have a story inspired by OD&D elves, as well as poems which retell Robert E Howard’s King Kull story ‘The Mirrors of Tuzun Thune’ and HP Lovecraft’s ‘Under the Pyramids’.

    I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing a review on your blog (either a normal book review, or a review of its suitability as gaming inspiration).

    If so, please let me know your email, and what file format is easiest for you, and I’ll send you a free copy. You can email me (news@apolitical.info) or reply to this thread.

    You can download a sample from Smashwords:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/92126

    I’ll also link to your review from my blog.

    Yours,
    James.

    Like

  2. Timothy, I hate to feel so thick-headed, but is there a post that I missed somewhere explaining WHAT the common theme is with these objects? I love reading the posts, but am so confused as to how they all string together… Maybe I missed something, or maybe that’s intentional, or maybe you intend to reveal this at the end. Anywhoo…. I’m still enjoying the posts!

    Like

    1. The common theme of the objects, from a player character point of view, is that they do things which don’t make sense. The most obvious is that they are immune to Hermetic magic. Nothing is immune to Hermetic magic. The Archangel Gabriel is the living embodiment of the Will of God to speak to his creation and even he isn’t immune to Hermetic magic (he just has a lot of Resistance). Why a little piece of paper and some shards of glass are just immune to Hermetic magic is the first, if almost unanswerable, question, for PCs.

      The second question is: if you have this stuff, what effect does it have on the world? If you make something as simple as some shards of glass able to pass through every Hermetic ward, does that matter? What if this stuff grows on trees, regardless of how rare the trees are?

      Then, what if this stuff has mystical effects that don’t belong to any Realm so the Parma doesn’t work against them? What does that do to the world?

      There are other questions too…but I’ll leave them for now. Spoilers! 8)

      Like

Leave a Reply

