Have you ever wondered what might have happened to Ars Magica’s faeries if the old style of thinking (“The Celts Were Right!”) had continued, and been coupled with our modern research techniques?

I was trying to do a “two great tastes which taste great together” thing, mixing my Ars Magica writing and Librivoxing by recording British Goblins and annotating it with Ars notes.  It won’t work, because the task of reading is too large and my pronunciation of Welsh is so bad as to make the process even worse.

Still, this means I can peel the Ars Magica piece off and work on it on its own.  So, the current plan is to work through British Goblins and transform it into Ars source material.

What format would you like?  Bestiary or Gazetter? Web page or magazine column (if SR want it)?   British Goblins is basically North Welsh, so its the area surrounding Blackthorn.

11 replies on “Now that its crashed and burned I can discuss this project

    1. A gazetteer, in this sense, would be built up by layering creatures from the original source.

      So, the first step is to get something like Google Maps and cluster the creatures geographically.

      Like

  1. I’d prefer a gazetteer format, as it’s far easier to pluck a favourite monster out of its context than to create a background with verisimilitude from scratch.

    I’m indifferent to web page or column as long as there’s a compiled version I can download to a mobile device.

    Like

  2. Does SR allow you to do both SR column, and web page? That’s preferable to me.

    and forgive me…. what’s the difference between bestiary and gazetteer format?

    Like

    1. A bestiary is an alphabetical list of creatures.

      A gazetter is like a travel guide: a list of places, with the creatures for each place highlighted.

      AS Peter points out, gazetters give better context, but are worse for quickly looking somehting up, since they are indexed by place. Then again, in electronic formats that doesn’t matter as much.

      Like

  3. If Sub Rosa want to publish it, I think that is to be encouraged as the magazine needs good material. As to format, I think the gazetteer would be the most useful. I would be interested to know how Blackthorn, which I believe is in South Wales, has extended its reach over the dangerous wild country of mid Wales to exploit the resources of the north.
    Pity I am not close enough to help you with those Welsh pronunciations! I’m not a native but have a clue through relations by marriage.

    Like

    1. One of the first things it mentions is that Pembroke is on a haunted penninsula where people don’t speak Welsh.

      Remembering this was written by a 19th century English guy, that’s still a lot of fun.

      After I finish setting up my new Librivox kit, I’ll start working on this. I’m going to do a lot of the work online, so people can see my methd and work out if they can take anything from it.

      Like

  4. The names for faeries were Celtic, and everything else was listed as a variant of the Celtic name. The Courts were the Seelie and Unseelie (which are Celtic). Basically the Celts had the best handle on faeries in 3rd edition. What thiswas, of course, is a research bias: the writers had easier/better material on Scots and Irish faeries because they have been described very fully in English, and so they made their faeries like the ones they could read about, and then extrapolated that across Europe.

    In RoP : Fairie, we tend to describe the role or form, and then give regional variants. So something is a herald of death, and then its a banshee, something is a domestic spirit and then its a browine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

